出口

有一些普遍接受的神话,可以使一个人难以公开姓名的经验,性侵犯或强奸. 这些神话减少犯罪的严重性和帮助的人犯下的性暴力行为,以逃避为自己的行为负责. 袭击后,这些神话可以影响一个人对自己的感觉, 阻止他寻求援助,并能影响他处理的方式,他应该挺身而出,请求帮助.

关于男人和性侵犯的神话不会出现无处; 他们保持活力和散发在我们的社会,我们说话的方式, 写, 作为, 并组织服务响应. 积极挑战神话或其他无益的信念是,我们都可以做,以帮助男性, 遭受性暴力的妇女和儿童. 当中无益的神话和信仰需要注意的是:

Close the door on unhelpful myths神话: 男人不能被强暴或性侵犯.
现实: 男人可以和被性侵犯. 任何人可以被性侵犯的大小,无论, 实力, 外形, 年龄, 占用, 种族或性别认同. 男人不能被强暴或性侵犯的想法是与不切实际的信念,一个'人'应该能够保护自己免受攻击. 它也有一个事实的历史,根据昆士兰刑法, 直到 1997, 强奸罪只能针对一女人.

神话: 唯一的同性恋男子性侵犯.
现实: 任何人都可能被强奸, 他是否确定为直, 同性恋者, 同, 跨性别或性倾向液. 强奸是武力或胁迫某个人的个人选择被忽略的行为. 正如被抢劫并不能告诉你某人的性欲什么, 同样没有强奸. 但, 研究确实表明,同性恋识别男性更有可能成为性暴力的对象.

神话: 这是谁的性侵害其他人的男同性恋者.
现实: 大多数男人谁性侵其他人认同自己是直. 神话是社会的同性恋恐惧症的传统和发展了看到参与性行为,作为一个人的性身份标志的过去的一个世纪一种习惯. 专注于性欲的问题停止注意力被放置在操纵, 暴力, 胁迫或用作进行性虐待的控制.

神话: 男人不能由妇女性侵犯.
现实: 虽然大多数男性性侵犯的是由男性承担, 女人做性侵男子. 并不总是通过压倒性的物理力量制定性侵犯: 据此,一个人可以被强制转换成性行为的担心潜在影响他的关系,它可以涉及情绪操纵, 工作, 等. 过去几年的数量已经增加了识别性虐待的男人,一个女人作为一个男孩或年轻人. 的想法,男人应该总是想作为一个年轻人,你应该感到幸运,如果你有一个老女人的性与性别与妇女和一个女人也很难使一个人公开命名性侵.

神话: 在性侵犯勃起或射精意味着你 “真的很想它” 或同意.
现实: 勃起或射精的生理反应,可以通过操纵和压力对前列腺引起的. 有些人谁犯下性侵知道如何勃起和射精可以迷惑男人,这促使他们自己的身体和阴茎操纵到勃起或射精点. 他们还可以使用此操作,以此来增加控制自己的感情,并劝阻报告的罪行. 制定勃起或射精并不表示男人希望或喜欢突击,也不说有关性的身份什么 (e.g. 如果一个人的发展勃起时,一只猫坐在他的大腿上, 但这并不意味着他是对性有兴趣与猫!). 看到我们的页面上男人和觉醒.

神话: 我自找的 - 他自找的.
现实: 性侵犯是没有犯下完全自由同意性行为. 不要紧,你去哪里, 你选择如何度过你的时间与谁, 你怎么打扮还是行为, 它不会让你负责受性侵犯. 同意进行亲密的性接触并不意味着你同意任何事情,一切. 它是在为“NO”的权利在任何时候,甚至同时在插入式性行为的中间. 这个神话的支持,社会的倾向,质疑和指责是谁殴打的人, 这反过来又可以邀请自我质疑和自我责备. 它是一种参与性接触的所有人员的责任,以确保有在任何时候都完全自由同意.

神话: 大多数强奸犯都是陌生人.
现实: 大多数男人知道是谁袭击他们在某些方面的人. 通常他/她是众所周知的他们. 他们可能是朋友, 邻居, boss, or relative; 父亲, 叔叔, mother, 姑妈, 哥, 妹妹, partner or ex-partner. They may be a professional or tradesperson such as a doctor, 老师, trainer, 心理医生, 警官, clergy, group leader or public servant.

神话: 有些人身体不能犯强奸罪.
现实: 一个人的体力, 性别, 性能力和性偏好不影响他们的能力,强奸. 性侵犯可以通过胁迫或操纵致力于, 用手指或物体,如棒, 记号笔或瓶子. 强奸是不是所有的物质力量: 年轻人和老年人做性侵犯年轻人和老人.

神话: 男子谁性侵无法控制自己的性欲.
现实: 人们可以控制自己的性欲望,如果他们想, 但是强大的他们可能是. 不 “欲望” 给任何人侵犯和虐待他人的权利. 远未引起缺乏控制, 许多性侵犯都是预先计划,并涉及相当大的权力滥用和控制.

神话: 性侵犯和强奸同性伴侣不存在.
现实: 强奸同性关系确实发生, 就像强奸直发生关系. 通过物理, 心理或情绪胁迫, 有些人是由他们的合作伙伴被迫从事不必要的性行为. 事实上,这名男子一直在与他的合作伙伴一个长期的性关系不会删除他的权利,说'NO!“. 不幸的是, 同性恋群体中的许多人都不愿意出面,命名性侵犯出一种可以理解的恐惧,他们将不会得到适当的照顾和支持. 这再次充分体现了男性性侵犯的问题是由社会的同性恋恐惧症加剧.

神话: 男性强奸只发生在监狱.
现实: 强奸发生在监狱. 事实,即男性在监狱强奸,强调20世纪60年代中后期,并持续到今天发生的事情. 澳大利亚的一个主要研究确定,大约有四分之一的青年男子将性侵犯而在监狱. 但, 监狱外也发生强奸, 在一般社会中的武装服务, 学院, 在城市地区和农村地区的大学. 在 2005 个人安全调查, 更多的男性被性侵犯的年龄后 15 比以前!

神话: 因为被性侵犯的男性会去犯下性侵.
现实: 大多数体验性暴力的男人谁不犯下虐待或性侵犯 (他们被吓坏了这样的建议). 这是一个最困难的男性神话: 它可以使男人很不愿意谈论强奸或性虐待的经历. 有没有证据显示,从遭受虐待的自动路由犯下性罪行. 但, 特殊经历 (除了性虐待) 有人犯下虐待的风险增加相关车型的阳刚之气. 看到我们的页面 罪犯的受害者.

神话: 被强奸的男子谁损坏,伤痕累累的生活.
现实: 男性可以做生存性侵犯, 身体和情绪, 并过着充实的生活, 享受奖励作为朋友的关系, 合作伙伴或父母. 尽管性侵犯案可以有一个对男性的影响深远, 他们可以找到一种方法,通过和生活的那种生活,他们想. 媒体和众多专业刊物专心伤害的故事, 讲述发生了什么恐怖的故事和相关问题, 没有提供平等的时间来详细说明如何让男人对自己的生活.

这些神话的麻烦

这些无益的信念麻烦的是,他们:

  • 使它更难男人谈论性侵犯的经历
  • 使它更难男性可以找到支持
  • 使它更难男子举报违法的警察
  • 使其难以检控某人谁犯性侵犯

你可以帮助消除这些无益的信念.

致谢: 创建参照南东部中心反性侵犯的网页“神话有关男性强奸。”

 

13 评论

  1. Comment by tista

    tista 回复 一月 26, 2016 3:09 下午

    So true

  2. Comment by Jason

    Jason 回复 四月 8, 2016 8:06 下午

    I would just like to point out that the reason it appears as though mostly men rape other men, and that women are the overwhelming majority of rape victims, is because virtually all studies before 2012 used faulty definitions that made it nearly impossible for a woman to commit rape. The definition of rape did not include being forced to penetrate someone else, which is committed 80% by women and only against males. This is just as much rape as being forcibly penetrated and makes up around half of rape in America. Two years running the CDC conducted their study includingmade to penetratebut classed it as other sexual assault, and not rape. In both studies they found that in a given year 1.3 million women were raped and 1.27 million men weremade to penetrate”. This excludes the rampant prison raper problem in America and really shows what lengths people will go to silence male rape victims, even declaring HALF of all rape isn’t rape.

    • 由杰西评论 [生活好员工]

      桎梏 [生活好员工] 回复 四月 15, 2016 9:45 上

      Hi Jason,
      Thanks for your addition to this information. It looks like you may be referencing this CDC paper at least (link added for the information) in whichAn estimated 43.9% of women and 23.4% of men experienced other forms of sexual violence during their lifetimes, including being made to penetrate, sexual coercion, 不受欢迎的性接触, 和非接触不受欢迎的性经验。”

      只是为了让你知道这个网站是在澳大利亚和我们所有的信息在这里属于我们的法律和定义, 这在很多情况下是与美国有很大的不同. 在澳大利亚 “强奸” 是 定义为渗透, 不分性别.

      在这个网站上,我们专注于一般的性侵犯和虐待. 有关澳大利亚的性侵犯的法律和统计数据的详细信息, 包括关于童年的性虐待和性侵犯的程度的数据, 请看看我们的 统计 页.

      由于政策和反应也似乎对你很重要,我们在有纸 男性的性虐待改进政策和实践回应 这可能是有趣或有帮助.

      当然,我们承认这是研究和知识发展的领域, 而由女性男性性侵犯的问题,一直低报和研究不足.

      一切顺利.

  3. 梅格帕金斯评论

    据珀金斯 回复 五月 6, 2016 6:38 下午

    能否请您给我的发现在监狱里的年轻人有四分之一被强奸的研究参考?

    • 由杰西评论 [生活好员工]

      桎梏 [生活好员工] 回复 五月 6, 2016 9:58 下午

      嗨梅格,
      谢谢你的问题. 请看看我们的 统计页面 它进入更详细的,包括你正在寻找参考: Heilpern, ð. 中号, 1998. 恐惧或华丰: 年轻囚犯的性侵犯. 利斯莫尔(Lismore), 南方大学出版社.
      干杯.

  4. Comment by Michael

    迈克尔 回复 十二月 17, 2016 6:50 上

    Do you have material about boy on boy abuse/rape, experienced child/adolescent abusing an innocent?

  5. Comment by Steve

    Steve 回复 十二月 20, 2016 12:43 下午

    神话: 大多数强奸犯都是陌生人.
    现实: 大多数男人知道是谁袭击他们在某些方面的人. 通常他/她是众所周知的他们. 他们可能是朋友, 邻居, 老板或相对, 父亲, 叔叔, 姑妈, 哥, 妹妹, 伴侣或前伴侣. 他们可能是一个交易人员或专业E.G. 医生, 老师, 心理医生, 警官, 神职人员或公务员.

    WONDERING WHY YOU LEFT OUTMOTHER”? That is is my abuser/rapist was.

    • 由杰西评论 [生活好员工]

      桎梏 [生活好员工] 回复 十二月 21, 2016 4:44 下午

      Thanks Steve for this feedback. 你是对的, we were remiss in leaving mother out of the list. This has been fixed.
      照顾自己.

  6. Comment by Patrick

    Patrick 回复 四月 11, 2017 2:30 下午

    I would like to know the statistics of how many women were actually convicted of sexual assault and also of rape against men, say for example in 2016.

  7. Comment by Carlos

    卡洛斯 回复 七月 5, 2017 4:27 上

    Isn’t there any bond between being abused by a man in the childhood and becoming gay in adult life? No necessarily becoming a sexual offender or a pedo, but just becoming gay.

  8. Comment by Julie

    朱莉 回复 七月 14, 2017 2:31 下午

    Like Patrick, I would also like to source this information with more up to date stats.

  9. Comment by Rogério Tenório

    Rogério Tenório 回复 十月 29, 2017 8:25 下午

    How can I help with the translation into Portuguese? For it is incorrect / incomplete.

    • 由杰西评论 [生活好员工]

      桎梏 [生活好员工] 回复 十一月 8, 2017 9:20 上

      Hi Rogério,
      Thank you for the feedback!

      When you are on a page, there is a ‘drop downlist on the top right that selects your language. When you are on a language other than English, there is a check box next to this list. If you check this box, depending on which browser you are using, you may have the option to edit the translation for that language.

      If this doesn’t work for you, please send us your translations directly, 在 livingwell@anglicaresq.org.au

      Thanks very much :)

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址不会被公开. 必填字段标 *

关闭
GO TOP

Exit

There are a number of commonly accepted myths that can make it difficult for a man to publicly name an experience of sexual assault or rape. These myths minimise the seriousness of the crime and help persons perpetrating sexual violence to evade responsibility for their actions. These myths can affect the way a man feels about himself following an assault, preventing him from seeking assistance and can influence the way that he is treated should he come forward and ask for help.

The following myths about men and sexual assault do not appear from nowhere; they are kept alive and circulate within our society by the way we talk, write, act, and organise service responses. Actively challenging myths or other unhelpful beliefs is something we all can do to assist men, women and children who are subjected to sexual violence. Amongst the unhelpful myths and beliefs to watch out for are:

Close the door on unhelpful mythsMyth: Men can’t be raped or sexually assaulted.
Reality: Men can be and are sexually assaulted. Any man can be sexually assaulted regardless of size, strength, appearance, age, occupation, race or sexual identity. The idea that men can’t be raped or sexually assaulted is linked to unrealistic beliefs that a ‘man’ should be able to defend himself against attack. It also has a history in the fact that according to the Queensland Criminal Code, up until 1997, the offence of rape could only be committed against a woman.

Myth: Only gay men are sexually assaulted.
Reality: Any man can be raped, whether he identifies as straight, gay, bi, transgender or fluid sexuality. Rape is an act of force or coercion where someone’s personal choice is ignored. Just as being robbed does not tell you anything about someone’s sexuality, neither does rape. However, research does suggest that gay identifying men are more likely to be the subject of sexual violence.

Myth: It is gay men who sexually assault other men.
Reality: Most men who sexually assault other men identify themselves as straight. The myth is a legacy of societal homophobia and a habit developed over the past century of seeing participation in a sexual act as a sign of a person’s sexual identity. The focus on questions of sexuality stops attention being placed on the manipulation, violence, coercion or control used to perpetrate sexual abuse.

Myth: Men cannot be sexually assaulted by women.
Reality: Although the majority of sexual assaults of men are committed by men, women do sexually assault men. Sexual assault is not always enacted through overwhelming physical force: it can involve emotional manipulation whereby a man can be coerced into sexual act out of fear of potential repercussions for his relationships, work, etc. The number of men identifying sexual abuse by a woman as a boy or young man has increased over the past few years. Ideas that men should always want sex with women and that as a young man you should feel lucky if you have sex with an older woman also make it difficult for a man to publicly name sexual assault by a woman.

Myth: Erection or ejaculation during sexual assault means you “really wanted it” or consented to it.
Reality: Erection or ejaculation are physiological responses that can be induced through manipulation and pressure on the prostate. Some people who commit sexual assault are aware how erections and ejaculations can confuse a man and this motivates them to manipulate their body and penis to the point of erections or ejaculation. They also can use this manipulation as a way to increase their feelings of control and to discourage reporting of the offence. Developing an erection or ejaculating does not indicate that a man wanted or enjoyed the assault nor does it say anything about sexual identity (e.g. if a man develops an erection when a cat sits on his lap, it doesn’t mean he is interested in sex with cats!). See our page on Men and Arousal.

Myth: I asked for it – He asked for it.
Reality: Sexual assault is a sexual act perpetrated without full and free consent. It doesn’t matter where you go, who you choose to spend your time with, how you dress or act, it does not make you responsible for being sexually assaulted. Agreement to engage in an intimate sexual encounter does not mean you agree to anything and everything. It is within your rights to ‘NO’ at any time-even whilst in the middle of penetrative sex. This myth is supported by society’s tendency to question and blame the person who is assaulted, which in turn can invite self questioning and self blame. It is the responsibility of all persons involved in sexual contact to ensure that there is full and free consent at all times.

Myth: Most rapists are strangers.
Reality: Most men know the person who assaults them in some way. Often he/she is well known to them. They may be a friend, neighbour, boss or a relative, father, uncle, aunt, brother, sister, partner or ex partner. They may be a tradesperson or a professional e.g. doctor, teacher, psychiatrist, police officer, clergy or public servant.

Myth: Some people physically can’t commit rape.
Reality: A person’s physical strength, sex, sexual potency and sexual preference does not affect their ability to rape. Sexual assault can be committed through coercion or manipulation, by using fingers or objects such as sticks, marker pens or bottles. Rape is not all about physical force: young people and old people do sexually assault young and old people.

Myth: Men who sexually assault can’t control their sexuality.
Reality: People can control their sexual desires if they want to, however strong they might be. No “desire” gives anyone the right to violate and abuse another person. Far from being caused by lack of control, many sexual assaults are pre-planned and involve considerable abuse of power and control.

Myth: Sexual assault and rape in gay couples does not exist.
Reality: Rape in same sex relationships does occur, just as rape in straight relationships occurs. Through physical, psychological or emotional coercion, some men are forced by their partners to engage in unwanted sexual acts. The fact that the man has been in a longstanding sexual relationship with his partner does not remove his right to say ‘NO!’. Unfortunately, many men within the gay community are reluctant to come forward and name a sexual assault out of an understandable fear that they will not receive appropriate care and support. This again highlights how the problem of sexual assault of men is compounded by societal homophobia.

Myth: Male rape only happens in prisons.
Reality: Rape does occur in prisons. The fact that men are subjected to raped in prison is something that was highlighted in the late 1960s and continues to occur today. A major Australian study identified that about a quarter of young men will be sexually assaulted whilst in prison. However, rape also occurs outside of prisons, in the general community and in the armed services, colleges, universities in the city and in regional and rural areas. In the 2005 Personal Safety Survey, more men reported being sexual assaulted after the age of 15 than before!

Myth: Men who have been sexually assaulted will go on to perpetrate sexual assault.
Reality: The majority of men who experience sexual violence do not perpetrate abuse or assault (they are horrified by such a suggestion). This is one of the most difficult myths for men: it can make men very reluctant to talk about experiences of rape or sexual abuse. There is no evidence to suggest an automatic route from experiencing abuse to going on to commit sexual offences. However, particular experiences (additional to sexual abuse) and models of masculinity are associated with an increased risk of someone perpetrating abuse. See our page on Victim to Offender.

Myth: Men who are raped are damaged and scarred for life.
Reality: Men can and do survive sexual assault, physically and emotionally, and go on to live full lives, enjoying rewarding relationships as friends, partners or parents. Although sexual assault can have a profound impact on men, they can and do find a way through and live the kind of life they would like. The media and many professional publications concentrate on stories of damage, recounting horror stories of what happened and the associated problems, without providing equal time to detail how men get on with their lives.

The trouble with these myths

The trouble with these unhelpful beliefs is that they:

  • Make it harder for men to talk about an experience of sexual assault
  • Make it harder for men to find support
  • Make it harder for men to report an offence to police
  • Make it harder to prosecute someone who commits a sexual assault

You can help dispel these unhelpful beliefs.

Acknowledgements: Created with reference to the South Eastern Centre Against Sexual Assault web page ‘Myths about male rape.’

 

5 comments

  1. Comment by tista

    tista Reply January 26, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    So true

  2. Comment by Jason

    Jason Reply April 8, 2016 at 8:06 pm

    I would just like to point out that the reason it appears as though mostly men rape other men, and that women are the overwhelming majority of rape victims, is because virtually all studies before 2012 used faulty definitions that made it nearly impossible for a woman to commit rape. The definition of rape did not include being forced to penetrate someone else, which is committed 80% by women and only against males. This is just as much rape as being forcibly penetrated and makes up around half of rape in America. Two years running the CDC conducted their study including “made to penetrate” but classed it as other sexual assault, and not rape. In both studies they found that in a given year 1.3 million women were raped and 1.27 million men were “made to penetrate”. This excludes the rampant prison raper problem in America and really shows what lengths people will go to silence male rape victims, even declaring HALF of all rape isn’t rape.

    • Comment by Jess [Living Well Staff]

      Jess [Living Well Staff] Reply April 15, 2016 at 9:45 am

      Hi Jason,
      Thanks for your addition to this information. It looks like you may be referencing this CDC paper at least (link added for the information) in which “An estimated 43.9% of women and 23.4% of men experienced other forms of sexual violence during their lifetimes, including being made to penetrate, sexual coercion, unwanted sexual contact, and noncontact unwanted sexual experiences.”

      Just to let you know this website is based in Australia and all our information pertains to our laws and definitions over here, which in a lot of cases are quite different to those of the United States. In Australia “rape” is defined as penetrative, regardless of gender.

      On this website we focus on sexual assault and abuse in general. For more information about the laws and statistics of sexual assault in Australia, including data about the extent of childhood sexual abuse and sexual assault, please take a look at our statistics page.

      As policy and response also seems important to you we have a paper on Improving policy and practice responses for male sexual abuse that might be interesting or helpful.

      We do recognise this is a developing area of research and knowledge, and that the problem of sexual assault of males by females has been under-reported and under-researched.

      All the best.

  3. Comment by Meg Perkins

    Meg Perkins Reply May 6, 2016 at 6:38 pm

    Can you please give me the reference for the study that found a quarter of young men in prison are raped?

    • Comment by Jess [Living Well Staff]

      Jess [Living Well Staff] Reply May 6, 2016 at 9:58 pm

      Hi Meg,
      Thanks for your question. Please check out our statistics page which goes into more detail and includes the reference you are looking for: Heilpern, D. M, 1998. Fear or Favour: Sexual Assault of Young Prisoners. Lismore, Southern University Press.
      Cheers.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close
Go top